January 30, 2014

  • Well thanks everyone for the smiles, but I've not set foot outside today.
    I haven't even opened my doors... it's been that cold and forbidding.
    I've been tempted, but only that.  I have not gone out. 
    We received an inch or two of ice and sleet, which all looks very pretty,
    but is not good for walking on. :-(
    I have remained in my home, watching the children have fun sliding on the ice. :-)

    I sprained my ankle very badly once, when I slipped on some black ice
    (that's invisible ice on black pavement), and that was when I was much younger...
    I am not about to tempt fate now.  :-)   Maybe if I had some decent walking boots,
    but I do not, so I've stayed put.  Surprised even myself. 
    I would have bet that I would go out also. 
    Good thing none of us are betting persons.  :-)

    I pulled out some old music albums(Lps) that I can no longer listen to,
    but realized I could pull them up on youtube if I knew what I was looking for. 
    I've been listening to the Alan Parsons Project band.  :-)  
    Some lyrics I could really relate to...

    ~ Time keeps flowing like a river
    to the sea....
    who knows when we shall meet again
    if ever
    but time keeps flowing like a river
    till its gone forever
    lost forever ~
    - the Alan Parsons Project band

    You read the book you turn the page...
    you change your life in a thousand ways

    and all the reason lights your eyes
    with the key you realize
    through the kingdom of the wise ~
    - the Alan Parsons Project band

Comments (7)

  • And that sea where time flows is the eternity.

    Love
    Michel

    • Greetings Michel, I am not surprised that you picked up on the depth of the meaning of the lyrics, and why I posted them. :-)

  • I love finding old music and listening to it too! Right now I'm working on bringing some of my Dad's old reel to reel tapes back to life. One sermon was from 1957. Should be interesting. I'd like to hear some of the things they were concerned about back then.

    I go outside but am really tired of the long hard winter. I need to read the Laura Ingalls book about their 'Long Winter'. I can't imagine no electricity and a long cold hard winter. Amazing. I don't want to find out what that's like!

    Hope you have a wonderful day!

    • I remember really feeling that winter, when I read, The Long Winter... feeling the awe that they survived, and how frightening it must have been.

  • Good Morning, Lynn. I sure took some nasty falls walking on ice and was even knocked out once. I woke up with two very nice looking nurses taking care of me. lol This happened in the church parking lot and the nurses were in our singles group. lol See, I was not a bad boy outwardly.

    Do not blame you for staying inside and listening to good music.
    blessings

    frank

  • Today we went out for awhile, but it wasn't icy, newly fallen snow, or super cold, or we wouldn't have gone out either!
    I enjoy listening to faves -- old & new on YouTube, too.
    I've never heard of that group or that song, but it's a good one.

  • I've been thinking about "old" music and posted on it on my blog! :-)

    I like youtube and Pandora, etc., for listening to any song I can think up. :-)

    HUGS!!! :-)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment