Month: October 2014

  • The lava flow from the Kilauea Volcano near the village of Pahoa, Hawaii on Oct. 28, 2014. Credit: Reuters Pictures

    lava flow Hawaii

    Isn't it amazing !

    It looks a bit like a fiery dragon, doesn't it?  The stuff myths are born of?

     

    This one is pretty amazing too:

    Scientists found dust and gas flowing from an outer disk around a star toward a possible second,
    smaller disk around a second star. Planets may be forming here!

    new planet forming

     

    and how about this:

    powers rulers of darkness demons (2014 Oct 30) This is the eastern Veil Nebula, a large supernova remnant
    Image Credit & Copyright: Ken Crawford (Rancho Del Sol Observatory)

    powers rulers of darkness evil spirits demons
    Does this not look like one from the other side of the veil... a demon?

     

    Have I shared this one before:

    face of God snap 2

    face of God snap

  • Interesting, and other, thoughts...

    Interesting thoughts;
    Have you noticed that when a waiter or waitress brings you a plate and says, 'careful the plate is hot',
    what is the first inclination to do?

    When asked; waiters and waitresses will tell you that the first thing a person tends to do
    is to touch the plate. (I know its what I tend to do and have to resist the impulse)

    teaching on temptation....

    our whole world functions on the basis of temptation - ruled by the ruler of this world -
    the dress in the store window - window dressings - tempting us to purchase
    the Krispy Kreme free hot donut - tempting us

    but how does it feel when you resist a temptation, no matter how small? It feels like a victory,
    usually something you celebrate within yourself.

    James 1:12 Blessed is the man that endureth temptation: for when he is tried, he shall
    receive the crown of life, which the Lord hath promised to them that love him.

    'no temptation you can not endure' (1 Corinthians 10:13)
    13 There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful,
    who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation
    also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.

    14 Wherefore, my dearly beloved, flee from idolatry.
    (flee from any thing that may tempt)

    15 I speak as to wise men; judge ye what I say.

    'everyone is drawn away by his own desire' (James 1:14) - when we allow ourselves to be placed in situations that will tempt
    12 Wherefore let him that thinketh he standeth take heed lest he fall.

    aannd in other thoughts....
    How many embarrassing things would you say you have done in your life?
    Do they come back to haunt you with the memory of them?
    Or have you been one of the those blessed people who do not make faux pas?

    With being on the verge of autumn and Halloween, and me desiring to go to a corn maze,
    I keep remembering the year I went with my sister-in-law and the kids, and I got my group lost
    so that everyone ended up waiting on us an extra 45 minutes to an hour in the cold, to get unlost, and get out...
    all the while, the ones who were finished, watching from the watchtower with their hot cocoa.
    My idea for us all to go to the maze and my feelings of embarrassment that I can't seem to purge.
    and that is just one of the incidents of my life..........
    I have always hated it when I set a foot wrong.

  • I feel a bit like a cheater....

    (ha, bet I gotcha Frank :-D )

    today I had 4 phone calls to make...
    I chose to make the 2 easiest...

    I did do laundry,
    make breakfast,
    and make egg custard, so.....

    at least I can feel I accomplished something today...
    even if I did cheat a bit...

    I will have to make those 2 harder calls tomorrow...
    hopefully......
    God willing, and God give me the strength...

  • note to self:

    10 Say not thou, What is the cause that the former days were better than these?
    for thou dost not inquire wisely concerning this. (Proverbs)

  • I LOVE my Xanga people.

    Xanga love

  • Now I'm a gloomy gus, and grieved that I can think of nothing to cheer myself up.

    gloomy gus

    down in the dumps

    I have been to the doctor today, and I hate going to the doctor, because it feels that all I do is complain...
    there is not much that can be done.

    I thought the Bible had a verse about keeping a cheerful countenance, but I am not finding it.

  • Today's thoughts... they're not much. :-)

    I started out to say, I'm not eclectic... I'm not progressive.
    But then I decided to look up the definition of the word eclectic and had to amend my thoughts to this;

    Am I eclectic? I don't know.
    Are you?
    I am not progressive.

    I have a hard time believing there is so little honesty in the world.

    A disappointed man...
    "It's hard to be content, when you can't achieve." (heard when watching Inspector Morse, I could relate)

  • Desktop and life

    Do you keep a clean desktop(computer), or is it like mine, strewn with files?
    Would you agree that how you keep your desktop is a reflection of personality...
    of how you keep things in your daily life as well?

  • Wow, I was totally not expecting tonight's temperature drop... looks like winter is on the approach.

Recent Comments

Categories