October 30, 2014

  • Interesting, and other, thoughts...

    Interesting thoughts;
    Have you noticed that when a waiter or waitress brings you a plate and says, 'careful the plate is hot',
    what is the first inclination to do?

    When asked; waiters and waitresses will tell you that the first thing a person tends to do
    is to touch the plate. (I know its what I tend to do and have to resist the impulse)

    teaching on temptation....

    our whole world functions on the basis of temptation - ruled by the ruler of this world -
    the dress in the store window - window dressings - tempting us to purchase
    the Krispy Kreme free hot donut - tempting us

    but how does it feel when you resist a temptation, no matter how small? It feels like a victory,
    usually something you celebrate within yourself.

    James 1:12 Blessed is the man that endureth temptation: for when he is tried, he shall
    receive the crown of life, which the Lord hath promised to them that love him.

    'no temptation you can not endure' (1 Corinthians 10:13)
    13 There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful,
    who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation
    also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.

    14 Wherefore, my dearly beloved, flee from idolatry.
    (flee from any thing that may tempt)

    15 I speak as to wise men; judge ye what I say.

    'everyone is drawn away by his own desire' (James 1:14) - when we allow ourselves to be placed in situations that will tempt
    12 Wherefore let him that thinketh he standeth take heed lest he fall.

    aannd in other thoughts....
    How many embarrassing things would you say you have done in your life?
    Do they come back to haunt you with the memory of them?
    Or have you been one of the those blessed people who do not make faux pas?

    With being on the verge of autumn and Halloween, and me desiring to go to a corn maze,
    I keep remembering the year I went with my sister-in-law and the kids, and I got my group lost
    so that everyone ended up waiting on us an extra 45 minutes to an hour in the cold, to get unlost, and get out...
    all the while, the ones who were finished, watching from the watchtower with their hot cocoa.
    My idea for us all to go to the maze and my feelings of embarrassment that I can't seem to purge.
    and that is just one of the incidents of my life..........
    I have always hated it when I set a foot wrong.

Comments (6)

  • I stilll confess sins i did years ago--i feel guilty. I know that is not necessary now due to what Christ did, but I do.

    Excellent post11

  • There is a big difference be4tween sins and mistakes. However we all do both.

    • Hi. :-) Yes, I was merely thinking of goof ups... mistakes... embarrassing moments....
      those times when we seem to trip over our own good intentions.
      I guess Frank was responding to the first part of my post. :-)

  • Temptations abound.
    Yes, I'm guilty of sometimes touching the hot plate even when knowing I probably shouldn't. I believe we all do. We are human after all.
    As for embarrassing moments, I think we've all had those too, though I can't think of a specific one to cite right at the moment.
    Oh wait, perhaps the time I cooked a meatloaf dinner topped with bacon, and it turned out to be the worst tasting meatloaf I'd ever had. Our guest tried to be polite and say it wasn't That bad, but I said, yes it was, and my young son agreed. I told everyone to stop eating. I think we ended up having pizza that night. It's been years, but I haven't cooked a meatloaf since. (though I had several times in the past and all were ok, that bacon meatloaf haunts me with an irrational fear that I will never be able to cook that dish again.)

  • Great post on temptation! :-) Good verses!

    I've done TOO MANY embarrassing things in my life to count them! I can't count that high!

    I only touch the hot plate if the waiter/waitress sets it too far away. Ha. They say, "The plate is hot." Then they set my plate in the middle of the table. (Or it seems like it!) :-)

    HUGS!!! :-)

  • We took some of our family into a huge corn maze a couple years ago ~ it really was more fun than I thought it would be ~ :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Comments

Categories