February 12, 2014

  • I awoke to the oddest sound...
    the sound a door guard makes as it slides across the floor when the door is opened or closed...
    I thought, 'that's what it sounded like', but it couldn't be.
    I rested a few minutes more, then I got up.
    I opened the blinds to look outside and sighed, greeted by the beauty of the ice covered trees...
    Yes, I had forgotten how pretty it would look today in spite of the rain -
    this is freezing rain.

    Then I saw...
    'Ah, that's what it was', I thought... 'Yes, that makes sense'...
    I saw the bright yellow of freshly broken wood, the place where the top of one of the smaller trees had sheared off under the weight of the ice...
    and there, a place where another one, an even larger one had done the same... 'I wonder when that one went down'...
    then I saw other trees bowed to the ground, stooped, bent over in their silent submission to nature...  the weight they must bear...
    I watched the tallest trees in an eerie dance, grandly holding their own with the weight, swaying side to side in a sort of slowed motion...
    and the one little place on the pine tree that had been sheltered and was still green, while above, for at least 8 feet, was a canopy of crystal...
    'all things great and beautiful'.  :-)

     

    Thankful we I have not lost power.

    at Twilight -

    I so enjoy the effects of changing light on the crystal trees. :-)

Comments (7)

  • "trees bowed to the ground, stooped, bent over in their silent submission to nature… the weight they must bear… the tallest trees in an eerie dance, grandly holding their own with the weight, swaying side to side in a sort of slowed motion..." I SO love the poetic way in which you write. I'm glad you didn't lose electricity, and that you stayed safe.
    I agree about the crystal trees ... today I was out and saw crystal everywhere I looked as the light of the sun hit the snow.

    • Hi. :-) Thanks for your appreciation of my writing. I love trying to create pictures with words and I don't know if I succeed except when people like you tell me. :-D

  • The electric wires resisted to the weight of the ice at the opposite of the branches that broke !
    You got a wonderful show.
    Love
    Michel

  • At first I was scared for you as I read this about a door opening. I was hoping you didn't have a home invasion. Then I read about the beautiful snow and relaxed.
    Stay warm. Stay safe.

    • Oh good, that means I achieved tension of mystery and suspense I was going for... because that's exactly how I felt. :-)

  • I'm so glad you were safe inside and you didn't lose power!

    But the way you described what you saw created a beautiful "photo" in my head! :-) Thank you!

    HUGS!!! :-)

  • I do that for my wife--bow in submission.

    Glad your power was on when you wrote this.

    frank

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment