Month: February 2014

  • March

    In like a lion...

    starting out at 29 this am with an expected high of only 45.

  • ~ the battle's not over,
    till I get home ~

    Continue the battle, withstand all suffering and trial, survive until the end;
    then you will receive the crown of honor. - Johann Friedrich Rock, 1741

  • Sometimes, just when the wind turns coldest, if we will just wait...
    the cloud passes, and the sun returns...
    and warmth.   -  C.Lynn

  • If I were a gemstone I would be:  a diamond in the rough.
    If I were a scent I would be:  lavender or coffee

  • adamswomanback has something fun to do today….and fun is good!!!
    So I picked a few...

    If I were a tree I would be: I would choose to be a Magnolia. :-)
    ... but I am probably more like a willow.
    If I were a flower I would be: night blooming jasmine
    If I were a musical instrument I would be: a harp
    If I were a color I would be: rose
    If I were an emotion I would be: empathy
    If I were a candy bar I would be: a Kitkat
    If I were a sound I would be: I'd want to be a bell
    If I were a car I would be: a Mercedes :-D
    If I were an animal I would be: a bird or an otter
    If I were a bird I would be: ah, I would love to be one of those ones that soar on the breeze

  • "Every day, in life, is beautiful"

    - Alice Herz-Sommer, the world's oldest holocaust survivor

    How can someone who has seen the worst of mankind hold onto this view
    ... more important... why can I not?

  • Therefore fear not when pain and tribulation loom before you,
    when the wild ocean waves threaten to turn and engulf your little ship.
    - Christian Metz, 1825

    ~ seasons change, so do I ~ (one of the golden oldies :-D )

  • Wait on the LORD:
    be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart:
    wait, I say, on the LORD.
      -  Psalm 27:14

  • I just saw the most amazing thing -
    I had been sitting, reading, marveling at the two mourning doves that were back,
    sitting on the same branch, in the same tree, as a few days ago,
    contemplating God and His mystery -
    I had just convinced myself that I must pick up and go in - move my body,
    get out of the chill - and there it appeared -
    color in the clouds - a spot of color -
    a spot that opened up... the briefest bright opening... but the color remained...
    a mini-rainbow (or rather a piece of, so more accurately, a prism)...
    in the center of a cloud today.
    I had to blink many times to assure myself of what I was seeing.  (God's covenant)
    It remained for several minutes.  Then I came in... still pondering.

    It was alot like this...

    cloud prism

    It was truly Awe-some.

  • The virtuous MAN
    where is HE to be found?

    So I have written my own version based on the Proverbs 31 woman....

    Who can find a virtuous man? for his price is worth more than gold.

    The heart of his wife can trust in him, so that she shall have no need of worry.

    he will do her good and not evil all the days of her life.

    he seeketh work, and applies himself dilligently to provide.

    he is like the merchants' ships which make sure his household is supplied

    he riseth with the dawn, and sets about the work of the day

    he carefully considers his purchases before he buys

    he girdeth his loins with the strength of the Word of God

    he perceiveth that it is he that determines his worth to his wife and follows the path of light

    he applies his hands to his work with effort.

    he is not greedy or selfish, and is generous towards those who have need

    he is not afraid of the cold for he makes sure his home is clothed in warmth

    he takes care of his appearance

    His wife is well respected as his companion

    Strength and honour are his clothing; and he shall rejoice in time to come.

    he openeth his mouth with wisdom; and in his tongue is the law of kindness.

    he looketh well to the needs of his household, and eateth not the bread of idleness.

    His children arise up, and bless him with respect;
    and his wife also, she holds praise for him as well.

    Few sons have done virtuously, but thou, thou dost excellest them all.

    Favour is deceitful, and beauty is vain: but a man who appreciates a woman that feareth
    the Lord, he shall be praised and rewarded.

    Give him that of which he is deserving and let all speak of his character that he is kind,
    hard working and not lazy, honest and charitable, and that he posseses the highest degree
    of integrity.
    ____________________________

    virtue comes from the Latin word for man, vir.

    For the ancients, to be manly was to be virtuous. The term virtue in Latin (virtus )
    signifies power, strength, and ability. Thus the virtues are habits that give us the
    power to act in a manly way, with strength sufficient to do what is right.