April 23, 2015

  • Lizards, and birds, oh my!

    Had a bird nearly fly into my head... looked like a kingfisher
    or a titmouse. He had that crest on his head that I love
    so much. :-)
    It seemed he was headed for a perching place on my porch,
    possibly my tree, and was startled to discover me sitting
    out there. I must say, I was just as startled by the
    tremendous sound of his wings by my ear as he veered off
    course.
    I get used to the hum of the wood bees that come and go,
    but this was one BIG sound for a bee. :-)
    He re-directed his landing pattern, and perched on my ledge
    for a bit, before he decided he could not trust me enough to
    pursue his original plan, and flew off. It is going to be a rather cold night tonight, so I hope he feels he can come back now that I have gone. Last year I had a little bird that liked to hunker down on my porch whenever it rained. Maybe this is that same little bird. :-)
    I also had to referee a lizard fight while enjoying (or trying to enjoy) my porch today. One had the other by the tail, but I figured I was a more frightening threat so I moved, and I was right... the tail was immediately let go of. lol

Comments (9)

  • Sounds like a regular circus! I bet that lizard was glad for the intervention - at least he escaped and I'm hoping he didn't lose any of his tail!!

    • haha - Yes, it felt that way... not a peaceful respite today, like I am used to. Surprisingly the lizard did not seem to lose any of his tail, but He went from being a beautiful bright green, to nearly black while he was sitting on the ledge of my porch recovering. When they are stressed they turn brown or dark. He was quite obviously stressed. Then, what's funny, is the other one... the one that attacked, was black when he attacked, but after his adversary got chased away he changed to be a nice shade of green... guess he was happy. lol
      My life the circus. :-D

  • HA! This was fun to read and made me snort-laugh! :-P What action and excitement! :-D
    I love watching animals and I'm so glad they are a part of our lives! :-)
    HUGS!!! :-)
    PS...I miss Frankie already! :-( Hope he's having fun fun FUN!!! :-)

    • Yes, I miss Frank. He is the hub that keeps the Xanga wheel turning. :-)
      Glad you snort-laughed. I laughed too when I read murisopsis' comment about my life being a circus. :-)

  • I tried to post a comment when all of a sudden my internet was kaput. Annoying. :-) I wondered if kingfishers eat lizards? I remember a lizard leaving part of his tail behind when someone tried to catch it. The tail twitched for awhile! Creepy.

  • @mcbery: I was wondering the same thing. I was kind of threatening the attacking lizard with that thought. lol
    You are correct Lizards will drop their tails if they have too, in order to make an escape. I didn't want that to happen, that's why I decided to stop the battle. :-)

  • A kingfisher would be way bigger than a titmouse ~ did you see the color of it?

  • @fwren: Hi Peggy - grayish-whitish? and he was a bit smaller than a cardinal?

  • most likely a titmouse then ~ kingfishers would be larger and probably bluish or greenish ~

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Comments

Categories