April 19, 2015

  • Songbirds, happy food, and 'cheer up wine'

    Resting on the couch, reading a book of fiction,
    gentle hum of a fan,
    and over it all,
    the lilting sound of the songbirds...
    ah, the joys of peace found in any situation.

    11 Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned,
    in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.

    'In stillness and in peace, will you find Me.'

    Peace Like a River  ----  Peace Like a River

    Shenandoah

    Thanks to my daughter for 'happy food' (she brought me donuts yesterday, and some banana nut muffins she had made)
    and with dinner tonight I am having half a glass of 'cheer me up wine'.  :-)
    Always look for the good things... the ways to be content in any situation.

Comments (7)

  • Birds twitter here every morning and I love the sound. I used to be irritated that they would wake me before sunrise, but I changed my mindset to appreciate them instead.

  • Yay for the good things you experienced...and the contentment! :-)
    The songs you shared are beautiful! :-)
    HUGS and Happy Moan-Day!!! :-)

    • Thankfully little moaning today. :-D I actually felt pretty good today. So good I went out for a walk, and saw and talked to lots of neighbors. :-)

  • That 1st Peace Like A River song you shared...It is Well With My Soul...do you know the story about the man (Mr.H. Spafford) who wrote the song?!
    If not:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/It_Is_Well_with_My_Soul

    Knowing what happened to him and his family make the words of the song much more meaningful. I'm not sure I could survive what he did.

    HUGS!!! :-)

    • Amazing faith,
      and amazing story.
      That kind of faith is rare... the kind that brings that 'peace that goes beyond understanding'.

  • birdsong is about the cheeriest thing one can hear, I'm athinkin'! :)

  • @fwren: I agree... a gift from God to speak to the soul. :-)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.