October 19, 2014

  • Another question...
    How many people understand electricity...
    AC - DC
    alternating current vs. direct current
    I don't understand what makes the difference...
    and yet we are all dependent on it....
    much the way we are becoming dependent on technology,
    which we also don't understand or control.
    Can it be only me that sees this as worrisome...
    putting our lives so much in the hands of others... ?

    Has anyone heard of Nikola Tesla?
    and what became of him? Why does everyone know of Thomas Edison but Tesla is so little known?

Comments (6)

  • I expect Tesla will be well known before long -- Tesla cars are now being sold here in sopping mall parking lots, where they have large banks of spaces with plug-ins!

  • Tesla was a truly brilliant man.
    Concerning AC vs DC in a very simplified example:
    AC stands for alternating current. It moves one direction then moves the opposite direction thus alternating. It is the electricity type found in your home sockets.

    DC stands for Direct Current, like a car battery, the current flows out in 1 direction.

  • oh well sorry, I tend to be detail oriented.
    nice to meet you

    Brent

  • AC has always been a question for me even if we use it everyday . How can we call " current" un flow of electons changing of diecxction 100 times /per second?.In tresting queqtion, Lynn .
    In a general way , more and more we use technologies but we do not know much how they work
    Love
    Michel.

  • When I hear AC/DC or Tesla, I first think of the bands. lol. I'm such a product of the 80's. I had Mechanical Resonance and the Great Radio Controversy, and nearly wore them out as my go to driving tapes.
    We learned about the actual science in school.

  • Like Crystalinne, I to think of the bands LOL but time in the Navy as a Radioman gave me an electronics background too :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.