September 24, 2014

  • Unknown answers to questions….

    Inspired by Aloysius son....

    I have always wondered how the ice for the ice box was produced.
    (not our modern day refrigerators, but those big blocks of ice
    that used to be delivered.... somehow without melting, to put in the ice boxes of old)

    I'll also never understand how gecko's and anoles can climb walls... (and no, they don't have sticky feet...
    it has something to do with energy, which I just don't understand)

    What things have you always wondered about?

Comments (8)

  • I think all of the beings ans things of the world , visinle or not, are sources of questions and amazement.
    Love
    Michel

  • They used to cut the ice out of bodies of water and store it in big ice houses packed with sawdust around it. Hard work! I suppose it melted a bit on the way to the ice boxes. I wonder about lots of things. We live in a wonderful world! Going to a funeral again yesterday made me wonder how God can just keep looking at sadness over and over and let it go on. I'm glad I don't have to have the answer to that! Hope your day is awesome!

  • Again a typing mistake .Please read : " visible or not"
    Thanks
    Michel

  • RYC;Yes Lynn, my lawn mower being French has a motor who says teuf! teuf! that sounds of course the same than tough! tough!in English :) :-)

  • My hubby is constantly saying, "I wonder . . ." ~ amuses me ~ not sure I wonder much ~ but I do like to wander ~ :)

  • mcbery, has it right for when back when.... They used to cut big blocks of ice out of the river, until the early 1900's....Then....

    They made the blocks of ice out of running water, meaning no more rivers....The ice houses had their own vats to freeze water in, cut the blocks and store them, still in sawdust...

    I remember, as a child in Indianapolis, when the ice man came to deliver the ice for our ice box....Especially in the warm months of spring, and the hot months of summer....He used to have a smaller block set to one side, where he'd take his ice pick, and break off slivers of ice, for the children in the neighborhood.....

    It made me kind of sad, when Mom got her first fridge....I missed seeing the ice man, lol!

    As for me wondering....More often than not, I wonder why things are the way they are today....And how far will the knowledge, in the use of things today will go....Will the children learn how to do math correctly (meaning using their brain), or will they just use the calculator's?

    Will mail, as we know it today, continue, or will e-mail take it's place?

    Basically, I'm wondering, what will the world be like a 100 years from now....

    • Hi Ellie,
      "More often than not, I wonder why things are the way they are today"

      I was just wondering that very thing this morning. Listening to the talk of politics on the radio, and having just watched the Roosevelts - who believed that it was every one's "duty" to serve. Does anyone do anything out of duty and higher purpose, anymore? It seems that people are only interested in doing things in self interest.

      Any idea how the 'ice houses froze the running water'? I'm guessing that's when they first discovered the use of freon?

      I still think that I will never understand how ice from the river, or lake, was stored from winter to summer without melting. Some things, for my brain, just will not compute, unless I do them myself.
      It's also hard for me to imagine that ice ever froze that thick, and how in the world did they cut through it? Those blocks of ice they brought for the ice boxes were thick.

  • Good wonderings! :-)
    I wonder about so many things, and then I ask a ton of questions about what I'm wondering about about, and then people wonder when I'll hush! ;-)
    HUGS!!! :-D

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Comments

Categories