Month: January 2014

  • What a difference a day makes !  and just a few hours at that...
    50 degree temp.'s and just about all the snow and ice has melted and disappeared,
    except for in the shady places of course.

    Edit:  YAY !  I got outside for a walk today.  :-)

  • Came across this tonight and had to share.

    diapers and politicians

  • Well thanks everyone for the smiles, but I've not set foot outside today.
    I haven't even opened my doors... it's been that cold and forbidding.
    I've been tempted, but only that.  I have not gone out. 
    We received an inch or two of ice and sleet, which all looks very pretty,
    but is not good for walking on. :-(
    I have remained in my home, watching the children have fun sliding on the ice. :-)

    I sprained my ankle very badly once, when I slipped on some black ice
    (that's invisible ice on black pavement), and that was when I was much younger...
    I am not about to tempt fate now.  :-)   Maybe if I had some decent walking boots,
    but I do not, so I've stayed put.  Surprised even myself. 
    I would have bet that I would go out also. 
    Good thing none of us are betting persons.  :-)

    I pulled out some old music albums(Lps) that I can no longer listen to,
    but realized I could pull them up on youtube if I knew what I was looking for. 
    I've been listening to the Alan Parsons Project band.  :-)  
    Some lyrics I could really relate to...

    ~ Time keeps flowing like a river
    to the sea....
    who knows when we shall meet again
    if ever
    but time keeps flowing like a river
    till its gone forever
    lost forever ~
    - the Alan Parsons Project band

    You read the book you turn the page...
    you change your life in a thousand ways

    and all the reason lights your eyes
    with the key you realize
    through the kingdom of the wise ~
    - the Alan Parsons Project band

  • So... What were the bets?  Did I go out and walk in it, or did I not? :-D

  • Ugh... watching the news makes me so angry...
    Why do we have a people's elected congress if the president can ignore the people
    and their elected voice in congress and just do as he pleases...
    How is this any different than a dictatorship? 
    When are the people going to catch on and start marching in the streets to remove this dictator-in-waiting?

  • 5:00 - and so it begins...

    Why does the snow always come in the dark hours?
    Same with hurricanes.

    This kind of weather always puts me in the mood for cooking.
    I've made a big pot of pasta sauce today. :-D

  • Winter -
    Around 1:00 I could feel the fingers of cold reaching into the house
    and beginning to wrap themselves around me. 
    Usually 1:00 is around the time the cold from the overnight begins to lift,
    but not so today.  Today it is the opposite. 
    It had been a comfortable temperature all through the night,
    but  I can feel the temperature outside is dropping now
    as it finds its way into my cozy home.  
    It shouldn't be long now before the ice and snow begin to fall.
    So I crank up the heat now... chase out the chill,
    and build up that blanket of comfort...
    just in case the electric goes out when the rain begins to fall
    and form itself as ice enwrapping power lines and tree limbs. 
    I am looking forward to the beauty.   I am hoping to stave off the cold.
    Winter - it comes but once a year 'round here. :-)

  • LET THE SNOW BEGIN

  • ~ Oh Glorious Day ~

    The weather here... or everywhere lately... can do the strangest things.
    It is 65 degrees today and intends to be snowing tomorrow.
    So I have been basking today in the warmth of bright sunshine and clear blue skies.

    ~
    Living, He loved me
    Dying, He saved me
    Buried, He carried my sins far away
    Rising, He justified freely forever
    One day He's coming
    Oh glorious day, oh glorious day
    ~
    by, Casting Crowns

  • A week or so ago... 9 days to be exact... I wrote about how odd it was to have thunderstorms in winter...

    Later my daughter informed that thunderstorms in winter is supposed to mean snow in two weeks...

    Well, guess what... we are supposed to have snow this Wed. ... 12 days after that thunderstorm.

    Weird, huh?

    A winter storm watch is now in effect for all of southeast North Carolina.  It is time to prepare!!!
    A winter storm watch is now in effect for all of southeast North Carolina. It is time to prepare!!!

    [Edit:  My daughter says they are predicting as much as 6 inches... as little as 3.
    That is very uncommon here at the coast.  I must be getting old though,
    because rather than being excited, I am content with the thought of  just hunkering down
    and staying indoors.  Not the usual for me.  Oh, I'll still be excited to watch it falling,
    but through my wonderful picture windows... inside where its warm and cozy
    with my hot chocolate, tea, or coffee. :-)
    teacupAh, who am I kidding...
    who wants to take bets that I go out and walk in it anyway?

    I don't even know which way to bet on that one.  lol]

Recent Comments

Categories