Month: October 2013

  • Why in this country do people live by the credo that it's ok to blame other people for your own stupidity?

    The McDonald's hot coffee law suit several years ago...
    suing the NFL over football injuries...

    Has anyone sued the boxing industry over the head injuries associated with the choice to box for a career?

    We make choices... choices have consequences...
    Is it right to blame others for our own choices when they are stupid?
    Only in the U.S.

  • It's going to be a glorious night... 60 degrees and windows wide open. :-)

  • I'm really dumb-founded...
    do people know nothing of history?
    Why would anyone want to trust putting the management of their personal lives and matters, into the hands of government?

  • a self observation;

    Every day, children go to school, buses run,
    but ever since my own finished with these years
    I am oblivious to these facts,
    these every day details of life that still apply to others.

    an other observation;

    My lizards -
    It's so funny... it is the biggest ones that are the most frightened.

  • All a matter of attitude...
    (read today in local magazine)

    Back in the 1930's times were tough financially.  When I was 10, my family moved from Beaufort to the small town of Swansboro.  Our first year there we  were so poor we couldn't afford leather shoes like the girls my age were wearing.  For our first day of school the only shoes Dad could afford were cheap canvas, ankle-high tennis shoes.  With no money for socks, we wore them without socks.

    The first day of school I knew I was going to be laughed at.  But I was determined not to let it bother me.  Sure enough, when two of my classmates first saw my funny-looking shoes they started pointing at them and laughing.  I gave them a disdainful look and loudly declared, "Don't you girls know anything about style?  This is what all the girls in the city are wearing.  And please notice, you don't wear socks with them!"

    A couple of weeks later, half the girls walked into the class with a new pair of tennis shoes on: without socks!

    Dorothy Worman, Morehead City, Carteret Craven Electric

  • Am I the only person who thinks it is the height of insanity to ever have thought that cell phone calls and internet use could not, and would not, be watched and monitored?

    I just think all the indignation is silly given that we all should know that there is every chance that someone is going to be listening, whether it's deliberate or by accident.  That's why I was always hesitant even to make personal calls using a cordless phone.

    I just think it is sensible to know that when your calls are bouncing around in space off of satellites they are likely to be picked up by others.

    and the indignation... I mean really, it's not like every government doesn't know that every other government is doing it if they can.

  • Oh so do I just really appreciate it when telemarketers, when they disturb my peace and my quiet, my life, they get to be rude to me?  Even before I got to say that I did not want to be disturbed by telemarketers he says... and I am quoting here...

    "What are you talking about?  Do you even know what this call is about?  We want to save you money.  This is UStelecom."  and then they hang up... on ME.

    What IS this world coming to?

  • Oooohhhh, I like the new feature in the sidebar that tells where we have made our most recent comments.  That's one small step in the right direction. :-)

    Oooo, and we now have a search feature. :-)

  • Worth getting out of bed for...

    Heard on the radio today...
    A dog shows the true spirit of worship

    A dogs attitude:
    You pet me, you feed me, you put a roof over my head...
    You must be God

    A cat's attitude:
    You pet me, you feed me, you put a roof over my head...
    I must be God.

    Now where do I get one of those laughing smilies.  :-D

  • Grateful to God for one last day of glorious sunshine and warmth before the cold that is due to arrive tonight.

    My soul followeth hard after thee: thy right hand upholdeth me.   Psalm 63

    Have you ever just sat and watched the clouds?
    They can seem to be growing and then they just begin to melt away... they disappear right before your eyes.
    It must have seemed so mysterious to the ancients.
    It is mysterious to me even to this day.

    The squirrels must be worried about the change in the weather... it's the first I've heard of them all summer, and they are full of chatter today.

Recent Comments

Categories